My Cooking Experiments: Baja Scallops in Rosemary and Olive Oil

I didn’t really eat anywhere interesting this week, so instead I’ll share with you all on my attempt to create a simple scallop dish to eat.
$5.49 per lbs giant Baja Scallops (spelling?) I got from Safeway the other night, the width of each scallop was like that of my thumb length, so they were fairly big.

1. Dried out scallops with paper towel after a rinse.
2. Traditional Olive Oil (Probably would be better if I had used extra virgin, but had none of that around) in non-stick pan.
3. Placed scallops inside on the oil at 1/3 max heat.
4. Cover with lid for 10 mins.
5. Flipped scallops, drizzled a bit more oil on the top of each scallop. Added 1/2 teaspoon of Rosemary leaves to each scallop. Added 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder on each scallop. At this point I was looking for lemon juice as well but did not find any. A drop or 2 may have ideal here keeping in mind that it is seafood.
6. Half Covered for another 10 mins.
7. Pinch of salt on each scallop, 3/4 turn of black ground pepper.
8. Half Covered for another 5-6 mins.
9. Finished!!!

I liked the taste, had a nice crusty edge to it which helped the texture. I’m trying to think howmuch different it would be with lemon juice and virgin olive oil though. I really liked the rosemary flavour to it though. If you do end up testing this recipe, please let me know what you think of it. Comments or thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Leave a Reply

