Food Adventures at the Stampede!!!

Home of the Boat!

Home of the Boat!

Finally, its been a while since I’ve talked about food, but Stampede is a place I didn’t want to forget about when it comes to unhealthy interesting food! So here is what I had while I was at the Stampede grounds.

So the first thing I really enjoyed was at the Butcher Boys, though it wasn’t until after I had finished eating till I remembered I wanted to take a picture, but since all the food was gone, I decided to take a picture of the vendor instead. Basically you get freshly BBQed steak (flank from what I saw), a healthy portion of onions and random veggies, mushrooms and processed cheese on top. The best part? You can order this WITHOUT the bun, which is exactly what we did. So for $8 you basically are eating steak, onions and cheese from a cardboard container they call “The Boat”. The steak was really good, bbqed nicely and it was nice an tender. The cheese and mushrooms were really good as a combination together to dumb down the meatiness a bit and it was nice to know I was getting some slightly healthy supplement in this.

International Hot Dogs

International Hot Dogs

Japan Dog!

Japan Dog!

Next up on the food menu were the international styled hot dogs that were previously posted on the stampede food blog. I made it a mission to find these guys and I wasn’t disappointed as I tried the Japanese Hotdog ($5.50). Its basically a hot dog surrounded by Japanese Mayo, teriyaki sauce and seaweed strips. Surprisingly, the combination was quite good (and messy) and we enjoyed it immensley. The hotdog wasn’t the same as getting a tubbys hotdog, but it was certainly tasty.

Skewers Donair Stand

Skewers Donair Stand

Skewers Greek Donairs. Think OPA and its basically what you get here. Good sized portions of meats from spinning gyros machines, fresh veggies and a healthy dose of taziki sauce. Its too bad the guy took like 10 mins to make a single wrap though. Lamb was good.

Hot Wiscousin Cheese

Hot Wiscousin Cheese

These guys won the “Rookie Award” for 2010, I assume that means they won the best of new vendors for this year and wow is it good. You are basically eating freshly battered and deep fried cheese sticks. You get a selection of sauces to choose from, wait like a minute or so as they deep fry the cheese and you are good to go. So filling and fatty but yet so good. Something like 5,000 calories or something in that little container itself. Not sure why it was called Wiscousin Cheese though and frankly, didn’t care.

Deli Manjoo?

Deli Manjoo?

I think thats what it was called at least. Basically you get fresh oil baked cakes with a creamy custard filling in the middle. By far the cheapest thing to eat on the grounds I think. My girlfriend loved these things and they were only 4.50 for a dozen or so too. I didn’t mind them, but didn’t exactly have a huge craze over them. Little bite sized creamed filled cakes (like a mini twinky?). These guys were situated inside the Stampede Marketplace.

Those Mini Donuts
Of course, what trip to the Stampede is complete without Mini Donuts from the best mini donuts place around? Why it “Those Mini Donuts”. Two bags later of mini donuts, we’re stuffed. Its kind of weird because I used to be able to eat 3 on my own too. Age is catching up to me 😦

Turkey Wing!

Turkey Wing!

Dinner time means we need to find somethign that can fill us up for the grandstand show. Our first selection was the turkey wing BBQ. The Small and mediums were all sold out so we either had to opt for large or huge. Large was more than enough. ($8) You could seriously hurt someone with these things. They say Applewood smoked turkey meat looks pinkish like ham and thats exactly what we got. The BBQ sauce was somewhat heavy but the turkey wing is fun and delicious at the same time!

Bison Burger

Bison Burger

Forgot the actual name of the vendor but it was right beside Nashville north. It wasn’t bad, but definitely not as smooth as I expected. The meat was slightly dry and tough (lean Buffalo I guess) and wasn’t particularly fatty. There was a lot of texture there with the whole wheat bread and only cheese condiment so it did end up a bit dry in total. It tasted alright, not particularly enjoyable due to the dryness of the entire thing. Good thing I had a fruit smoothie nearby.

Well folks, I brought my own water, had some cokes from Macs (with their buy 2 entrance tickets and get 2 cokes) and a fruit smoothie which about rounded out the food prices to somewhere in the range of $40-50 I think. Not bad for Stampede really considering the 2000% price markup.

I wonder what new foods will be here next year?

2 Responses to “Food Adventures at the Stampede!!!”

  1. Wisconsin + Cheese are like the same thing….
    http://www.eatwisconsincheese.com/
    Like how Green Bay Packers fans wear big giant foam cheese blocks on their heads (and call themselves CheeseHeads). Do you think they would have actually imported the cheese at stampede from Wisconsin?

Leave a Reply

